Understanding Cultural and Human Geography

Course No. 1761
Professor Paul Robbins, Ph.D.
University of Wisconsin, Madison
Share This Course
4.3 out of 5
49 Reviews
77% of reviewers would recommend this product
Course No. 1761
Sale
Streaming Included Free

Course Overview

No one is an island. The community where you live, the food you eat, and the people you know are all part of a global chain of connections. Humans have transformed the planet over the past 10,000 years, and today, thanks to our transportation infrastructure, telecommunications, and a restless economy, the pace of globalization is accelerating. It is more important than ever to understand this chain of connections in order to tackle some of the biggest questions about human life on earth:

  • Is our current population growth sustainable?
  • How will we adapt to the changing climate?
  • Why are some nations rich and others poor?
  • What does globalization mean for local cultures?
  • What is the relationship between geography and the nation-state?

Tackle these questions and more in Understanding Cultural and Human Geography, a groundbreaking course that surveys the geographical context for human activity. Over the course of 24 eye-opening lectures, Professor Paul Robbins of the University of Wisconsin–Madison takes you on an interdisciplinary voyage across time and around the world to consider the dual nature of our relationship with “place.” You’ll see how our environment influences human life, and you’ll consider the way human life, in turn, influences the environment.

If you took a high school geography course, you likely spent your time memorizing countries and capitals, oceans and continents, rivers and mountain ranges. This is “descriptive geography,” a straightforward catalog of what the world looks like. But the field of geography is much more complex, much more dynamic, and much more human than a course emphasizing memorization would have you believe.

Understanding Cultural and Human Geography shows you the full range of the geographer’s purview. Beyond simple description, this course reveals the underlying structures that explain why the world is the way it is. You’ll see that geography is truly interdisciplinary, covering such a broad range of fields as:

  • Ecology
  • Anthropology
  • Sociology
  • History
  • Cultural Studies
  • Economics
  • Geopolitics

Professor Robbins introduces you to each of these discrete fields and the connections between them, so you come away with a comprehensive understanding of human activity on earth. Understanding global trends and connections—from environmental changes such as deforestation to the way money and labor slosh around the globe—will give you new insights into the story of human civilization and current events.

Study the Relationship Between Humans and the Environment

One key theme of this course is that “place” is a construct. People make (and constantly re-make) places in response to myriad circumstances, ranging from economic conditions to changes in the ecology around them. Indeed, humans have taken over the earth so completely that some geologists now refer to our era as the Anthropocene—the “human era.” But is this a good thing?

After introducing the concepts of “place” and “region,” Professor Robbins examines the many ways humans have affected—or been affected by—the environment. For example:

  • Human have transformed the land through deforestation and the building of roads and cities.
  • Thanks to a growing population, we have harvested much of the biosphere for commercial farming and energy production.
  • International travel and transportation has led to the spread of disease and introduced invasive species to new lands.
  • Pollutants from the Industrial Revolution have altered our climate.

While it is tempting to despair over humanity’s takeover of the planet, Professor Robbins shows how the picture is complex, and that there is reason for optimism. Much of the human impact on the earth is not an inexorable march of destruction without any means of revitalization. In the case of deforestation, for instance, trends such as urbanization combined with governmental policies and the boom in forest industries suggest forests won’t be going extinct any time soon.

Immerse Yourself in the Global Economy

In addition to the study of particular environments, cultural geography seeks to find connections around the world. For instance, what does the outbreak of disease in one location have to do with the global price of gold? What does the international agriculture system have to do with the suburban American lawn? Why are Chinese investors buying land in Africa?

From India to Istanbul to the American Midwest, Professor Robbins takes you on an exciting journey across disciplines to show you the effects of the “great acceleration”—the rapid pace of globalization and cultural change. In this journey, you will:

  • look at the structure of our economic system, from the capture and processing of raw materials to commercial sales and data management;
  • see how the Columbian Exchange changed the world economy after 1492;
  • review the geography of wealth and poverty, including indices for measuring standard of living;
  • consider how our modern transportation system nullified the barriers of distance, as well as the effects this development had on labor and migration; and
  • unpack the trend toward urbanization and reflect on what this trend means for the future.

Beyond examining the financial impact of the “great acceleration,” you’ll discover the cultural implications of a world economy. For example, as cultures become more and more homogenized, thousands of languages are disappearing. Professor Robbins explores the wellspring of culture and delves into the complex relationship between culture and place.

Consider the Political Implications of Geography

The course ends with a unit on geopolitics, the study of geography and political power. You’ll visit several hotbeds of geopolitical activity—including Afghanistan, Ukraine, North Korea, India and Pakistan, and the Balkans—to explore the thorny issues of geography, ethnicity, and statehood.

You’ll also study several geopolitical theories, including Great Britain’s 19th-century “heartland theory” of international dominance and the United States’ Domino Theory of communism in Southeast Asia. Finally, you’ll look at the relationship between economics and geopolitics in the context of international agreements such as the European Union, as well as the pros and cons of international governance.

Think Like a Geographer

If you open any newspaper, the headlines demonstrate the world is always changing. The beauty of Understanding Cultural and Human Geography is that Professor Robbins provides you a methodology for understanding human life on earth. Whether thinking about environmental policies, cultural homogenization, economic circumstances, or geopolitical tension, there are no easy answers.

Beyond the excitement of traveling the globe, geography is an active field—a field that has the potential to completely change the way you view the world. You’ll learn to trace a chain of explanations from an event on one side of the earth to a seemingly unrelated cause on the other side. When you complete this course, you’ll have all the tools you need to look beyond the headlines and analyze world events in a whole new way.

Hide Full Description
24 lectures
 |  Average 30 minutes each
  • 1
    Writing the World: The Mapmakers Craft
    We’re all familiar with maps, but we seldom think about the stories they tell. Consciously or not, cartographers make choices, and these choices are informed by particular cultures and political situations. Start your foray into cultural and human geography by unpacking what maps can tell us about the world of their creators. x
  • 2
    The Problem with Geographical Determinism
    Learn some of the arguments for and against geographic determinism. After introducing basic concepts such as “place,” “region,” and “adaptation,” Professor Robbins reflects on some of the ways in which geographic context influences people—and the way people influence the geography around them. x
  • 3
    Anthropocene: The Age of Human Impact
    Humans have taken over the world. Our ecological impact has been so great that we may have created an entirely new geological epoch. Investigate some of the ways our species has affected the world around us, from changing the climate to remaking the land, and see what responsibilities we have toward the earth and our fellow humans. x
  • 4
    Climate Change and Civilization
    Survey the history of the earth’s climate from antiquity to the present, and examine the evidence that recent human activity is accelerating climate change. If this period is profoundly different from previous periods of change, find out what challenges we will soon face and what opportunities technology and innovation afford us. x
  • 5
    Global Land Change
    Step into the field of “land change science,” an important subfield of geography that looks at the ways human activity has transformed the global land surface. See what factors have led to deforestation around the world and throughout history, as well as signs that we may be at a turning point where our forests and other environments will rebound. x
  • 6
    The End of Global Population Growth
    Many fear what may happen if our population continues to grow exponentially. Think geographically about the problem and see what local conditions and patterns tell us about the world at large. Gain insight from demographic trends, including education, urbanization, and economic growth, that suggest the danger may be less than anticipated. x
  • 7
    The Agricultural Puzzle
    Shift your attention from population to food production. After reviewing the tools and measurements of farming systems, take a look at the transition from local subsistence to global production models. Then, consider the way new technologies and efficiencies will affect the sustainability of our agricultural system. x
  • 8
    Disease Geography
    From cholera in 19th-century London to the West Nile Virus today, chart the outbreak of some of the world’s most virulent diseases. A little detective work shows that pandemics are spatial. What does this mean now that we live in such an inter-connected world? How likely is a global pandemic? And how would we respond to future outbreaks? x
  • 9
    Political Ecology
    Discover a fascinating method for putting the relationship between humans and the environment in context. Political ecology unpacks chains of explanation, traces the flow of economic value, and examines structural constraints that help us understand myriad political and environmental problems. x
  • 10
    Economic Geography: Globalization Origins
    Go back to the years before Columbus discovered the Americas, when global trade was a new phenomenon. Here Professor Robbins introduces several key concepts of economic geography and shows the critical role of “place” in capitalism. He then surveys the economy of trade in the 14th and 15th centuries. x
  • 11
    The Columbian Exchange
    Experience the economic transition of the Columbian Exchange, which began with the famous voyages of 1492. After reviewing the environmental impact of merging Old World and New World ecologies, you’ll explore the rise of gold and plantation economies, as well as the “core-periphery” system of trade that emerged in the colonial era. x
  • 12
    Uneven Development and Global Poverty
    Turn from the history of economic activity and development to the field of “national income accounting.” You’ll map the distribution of global wealth using such measures as gross domestic product, the human development index, the corruption perception index, and the geography of debt. Find out why uneven economic development persists. x
  • 13
    The New Global Economy
    In recent decades, transportation and information technology have fundamentally changed the flow of goods around the world. Now that our transportation system has minimized the role of “space,” the global economy has shifted east to China. See what this means for business today—and where the future of the economy is heading. x
  • 14
    Restless Humanity: The Migration Conundrum
    People migrate from place to place for a number of reasons. Whether pursuing opportunity or escaping turmoil, people respond to global politics and the economy. In this lecture, you’ll explore the remarkable scale of human mobility and learn what structural conditions change the rate and direction of migration. x
  • 15
    Urbanization: The Rise of New World Cities
    Revisit the question of population in this survey of urbanization. Look at the history of cities and find out what is driving our current state of rapid urbanization. Consider the ecological costs and economic and environmental opportunities of a global city-dwelling population. x
  • 16
    Geography of Language
    Tour the global distribution of language families. Although our world has a remarkable diversity of languages, a small handful—including Mandarin, English, Spanish, Arabic, and others—have come to dominate the world. What does the decline and loss of so many languages mean for our global culture? x
  • 17
    Understanding Cultural Geography
    Tackle one of the most fundamental questions about culture: why does it vary at all? After exploring culture as a system of shared meanings and practices, consider the origins of culture and its relationship with place. Then reflect on the interactions, and in some cases consolidation or erasure, of cultures around the world. x
  • 18
    The Importance of Place
    Thanks to global communications, economic growth, migration, and urbanization, distinctive “places” appear to be vanishing. Re-examine the concept of place and consider the ways people make places. In the economic and environmental landscape of the 20th and 21st centuries, local cultures may be changing, but they are not going away. x
  • 19
    Cultural Commodification
    In today’s world, it’s difficult to separate culture from the global economy. As local cultures become commodities in the form of art, tourism, fashion, and other industries, this changes the way culture is produced and consumed. Reflect on the challenges and opportunities inherent in cultural commodification. x
  • 20
    Culture, Power, and the Politics of Meaning
    Because culture is a system of shared meaning, cultural concepts—including history—are invented constructs. Meanings can change, which means some elements of culture are inseparable from politics. This lecture explores that connection by looking at the politics of women’s veils in Turkey and France. x
  • 21
    The Geopolitical Imagination
    From Afghanistan in the 19th century to the Ukraine today, tackle the global configuration of powers. Take a close look at several geopolitical theories and apply them to some of the 21st century’s key trouble spots. The competing interests in the world of statecraft are a messy but captivating business. x
  • 22
    Regionalism and the Rise of New States
    Continue your study of geopolitics with a look at the nation-state. Using the cases of Kosovo, South Sudan, and East Timor, this lecture shows how political geographies emerge and asks questions about the distinction between national identity and state territory. See what challenges accompany the creation of new states. x
  • 23
    Supranationalism: Taking on Big Problems
    Solving international challenges is a bit like playing whack-a-mole: if one state cracks down on a problem, such as locusts, the problem often simply moves to a neighboring state. Close your study of geopolitics with a consideration of supranational organizations such as the European Union. Learn about the possibilities and obstacles to international governance. x
  • 24
    Future Geographies
    Visit five places around the world, each a distinct window into a possible future for humanity on this planet. You’ll discover that even though the pace of globalization is accelerating, the future nonetheless will be filled with remarkable geographic diversity—even if that diversity is different from the geography we have today. x

Lecture Titles

Clone Content from Your Professor tab

What's Included

What Does Each Format Include?

Video DVD
Instant Video Includes:
  • Download 24 video lectures to your computer or mobile app
  • Downloadable PDF of the course guidebook
  • FREE video streaming of the course from our website and mobile apps
Video DVD
Instant Audio Includes:
  • Download 24 audio lectures to your computer or mobile app
  • Downloadable PDF of the course guidebook
  • FREE audio streaming of the course from our website and mobile apps
Video DVD
DVD Includes:
  • 24 lectures on 4 DVDs
  • 184-page printed course guidebook
  • Downloadable PDF of the course guidebook
  • FREE video streaming of the course from our website and mobile apps

What Does The Course Guidebook Include?

Video DVD
Course Guidebook Details:
  • 184-page printed course guidebook
  • Photos & illustrations
  • Maps
  • Suggested readings

Enjoy This Course On-the-Go with Our Mobile Apps!*

  • App store App store iPhone + iPad
  • Google Play Google Play Android Devices
  • Kindle Fire Kindle Fire Kindle Fire Tablet + Firephone
*Courses can be streamed from anywhere you have an internet connection. Standard carrier data rates may apply in areas that do not have wifi connections pursuant to your carrier contract.

Your professor

Paul Robbins

About Your Professor

Paul Robbins, Ph.D.
University of Wisconsin, Madison
Professor Paul Robbins is the Director of the Nelson Institute for Environmental Studies at the University of Wisconsin–Madison. He has a bachelor’s degree in Anthropology from UW–Madison, and a master’s degree and a doctorate in Geography from Clark University. An award-winning professor, he previously led the School of Geography and Development at The University of Arizona, and he has also taught at The Ohio...
Learn More About This Professor
Also By This Professor

Reviews

Understanding Cultural and Human Geography is rated 4.2 out of 5 by 49.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Intelligent View of the World Professor Robbins formulates a way to look at geography that is all-encompassing and, while not all new to me, presents new ways to look at our problems and their solutions. By now, 2016, some of his data is beginning to be outdate, but it is all clearly applicable..
Date published: 2016-07-04
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Limited insights here As a general reader in Geography and world conditions I was looking forward to insights. Unfortunately after 5 lectures I have found nothing new here.
Date published: 2016-01-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from More facts per minute than any other course This wide-ranging, multidisciplinary course literally takes you around the contemporary world of the field of geography. I thought geography had to do mainly with map-making, but this course proved my misconception wrong. The professor gives you a sampling of many major subfields of geography, having to do with environment, territory, linguistics, culture and politics (and a little bit on maps). Each lecture is well-structured, beginning with richly told anecdotes, then necessary (and helpful) definitions of terms, then a development of the main idea of the lecture, ending with a lead-in to the concept of the next lecture. I loved that his examples came from every continent and that he left some important debates open for the listener to decide. Overall, this was an informative briefing on crucial issues that matter in the world today.
Date published: 2015-11-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Knowledge vital for interpreting the news I have completed 7 TLC courses and a couple of Coursera ones. This is by far the most important and immediately relevant one for interpreting the hype around international culture, environment, economics and and human ecology (human/land interaction) It's a well-rounded approach and I was impressed- I have an MA in anthropology, and natural resources. I had taught myself most of this material already in the years since grad school. My use for the course was that I'm homeschooling my high school age kids, and it didn't fail to please. It's accessible; current- it includes several overarching (somewhat controversial) cutting-edge concepts in various fields of biology, ecology and agro-science ; there are lots of bibliographic references for learning more about various topics; the professor is passionate, practical- easy to listen to. The kids were actually quite eager to take the lessons and they generated much discussion around current events and environmental news. I can't imagine liking a course or professor more, or a better use of time to become a better global citizen.
Date published: 2015-11-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from One of the very best This course is extremely well designed and delivered. Each lecture is large in its scope, but Prof Paul Robbins communicates the ideas in an deftly structured manner such that the entire lecture is immediately clear and most of it is retained. The course appears to be fairly comprehensive in that each lecture sources examples across geographic space and historic time, which importantly includes the very latest and there also instances of ongoing research work. This makes the course very alive and relevant. The course includes seminal publications, classic books in the field, and currently active research material. Prof Paul Robbins should be commended for the balance between the numerous elements in each lecture. Perhaps the very best feature, of the numerous good features in this course, is the manner of teaching. Prof Robbins delves a lot into the 'why' of various topics in the lectures, which makes the lectures more than just descriptive. I often found myself riveted and totally engaged in the lecture waiting to find how a given situation played out and then at the end say back amazed at learning what geographic and cultural factors were actually involved versus what presumptions I had hitherto held in my mind. It has been a long time since I have been this excited by a course (which I might add I had not expected to be before starting the course). The content of the lectures is rich and presented in an accessible manner, which makes these lectures relevant for a vast audience with different degrees of prior knowledge of this subject area. If you've ever heard of geography (with emphasis on cultural, political, economic geography as opposed to natural geography) then you should get this course and you will see it from a couple of additional perspectives. If you've never cared much for geography, then you absolutely should get this course, it the very best introduction you could hope for to his incredibly fascinating subject. (Thanks a lot Prof Paul Robbins for an excellent series of lectures, you have made my perspective of human geography multi-dimensional)
Date published: 2015-10-17
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good Overview of Academic Geography today I enjoyed this course, and how the professor weaves a picture of contemporary geography. I do wish the course included a lecture on what we call various geographical features. All in all I'm glad I bought the course, though I still have a couple of basic unanswered questions.
Date published: 2015-07-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Eye-opening and Informative Course This is a very good course on the complexity of the world and its associated interactions with humans, cultures, politics, environment, economics, etc. Professor Robbins does an excellent job of presenting these items and their interactions. This course discusses some of the events of the past but also covers some of the events of today such as the current economic issues between Greece and the European Union. The world is changing and in many cases the rate of change is increasing. Some of these changes are good and some are not so good. Professor Robbins clearly explains how these changes affecting the world and the people on it. Professor Robbins provides examples were changes to fix problems in one location resulted in problems somewhere else. Consequently, simple solutions to problems are not as simple as they seem and can have widespread and potentially international impact. In some cases, there are no simple solutions. This course includes an extensive set of visual and audio components to enhance and demonstrate the points being raised by Professor Robbins. Examples include maps, diagrams, pictures, graphics, and audio clips. I highly recommend this course to anybody would have to have a better understanding of our complex and ever changing world.
Date published: 2015-07-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent Professor Robbins hits this one out of the park. I really enjoyed it and highly recommend it. In today's world understanding geography is imperative.
Date published: 2015-06-24
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Underwhelmed I had high hopes for this course since I have loved geography my whole life. Yet this is more of a superficial intro to human ecology, more like a high school freshman course than a college level class. I never felt the content here got beneath the surface (which I concede is THE definition of geography), or beyond superficial explanations (which is what you take a course for in the first place). But maybe it did accurately present the current state of academic geography. When I was in high school geography was more along the lines of surface geology (how mountains, valleys and coast lines form, appear and effect humans), then later as an adult I read with excitement the works of authors like Thomas Sowell and Jared Diamond as they explained more deeply how geography shapes human cultures - for instance how in Africa a lack of steady rainfall on a continent with a small interior surface area compared to coastal perimeter created an environment of few navigable rivers and thus more isolation between tribes, and the subsequent effect this has had on communication, cooperation and development of the indigenous cultures - and how this would play a huge role in the development of the later West African slave trade. Professor Robbins course really covers neither of these aspect of geography, and instead is more of a survey of how modern sociologists understand human development and political ecology; vis-a-vis economics, agriculture, migration and urbanization. Overall his presentation (in both content and delivery style) is not the quality I've come to expect from the Great Courses; not only is his delivery a bit emphatic and overly enthusiastic (that high school freshman class tone I guess), but also seems a bit repetitious, simplistic and politically correct, and had the effect of discouraging me from wanting to learn more about a subject I love....
Date published: 2015-06-15
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Very Disappointing This course did not come up to my expectations as set by other Great Courses. It is even difficult to say what it is about. Many topics are discussed, the only commonality is that Professor Robbins attaches the word “Geography” to each of them, even when they owe most of their content to other fields, such as agriculture, epidemiology, economics, or politics. This would not be a fatal flaw if the disparate contents of each lecture were individually new, interesting, and stimulating. Unfortunately, I did not find that to be the case. This series of lectures may be a case where the material is suitable for young undergraduates but not for members of a mature audience who have already encountered most of it as a normal part of their experiences. The paucity of the content is not helped by the quality of Professor Robbins’ delivery. He speaks in rapid word clusters in which key words get buried. There are many points of detail that can be criticized but I will select only one. Most of the second lecture is devoted to a dismissal of Jared Diamond’s influential book “Guns, Germs, and Steel” (a Pulitzer Prize winner). This would have been interesting if it had been done respectfully and with a careful rationale. Instead, Professor Robbins distorts Professor Diamond’s argument and evidence and attaches a pejorative term (“determinism”) to his hypothesis. For example, Professor Diamond points out that land masses with a large east-west extent (like Eurasia) are conducive to the spread of agriculture, not to its origin as Professor Robbins asserts. Furthermore, Professor Diamond’s primary criterion for the development of agriculture and hence civilization is the wealth of domesticable plants and animals to be found in a particular region; Professor Robbins ignores this criterion and the supporting data. Professor Robbins offers little counter evidence; he does say that China remained “poor” despite having domesticated rice 7,000 years ago. This is a surprising example in view of the 4,000 years of Chinese civilization and regional dominance. Indeed, China is an important case that supports Professor Diamond’s argument. Altogether, a very disappointing course.
Date published: 2015-06-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Simply Magnificent Course This is one of the best courses i have ever had the privilege of listening to. This offers a profound and utterly engaging sweep across the cultural and economic landscape of the world. There were numerous highlights including a forthright explication of the challenges created by the impact of human beings and the way in which challenges of food production and environmental issues must be addresedd. Of deep significance was the survey of economic geography and the critical impact the "Colombian Exchange" (ie the colonisation of the "new world" in 1492)had and continues to have on the shape and nature of the global economy. The professor kept me entrhalled in every lecture and i would have been happy if this had been a 36 lecture course and any further course from this Professor would have me as an enthusiastic customer.
Date published: 2015-05-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fasten Your Seat Belts This is a whirlwind world tour of the the forces that create the world we live in--environmental, historical, social, economic and political-geography is the perspective that pulls all of these together into a picture of "place." There's a lot of information in this wide-ranging overview of the field; and Professor Robbins delivers it in a a well-organized and rapid-fire manner that demands full attention. He also packs the course with examples and case studies that illustrate the multiple, interacting forces and factors that shape the shifting directions of different countries and regions. Historical discussion of the Columbian Exchange, the first global socio-economic shift of our era, preface discussions of contemporary globalization, urbanization, and population, social and economic changes. A great (but very complex) framework for beginning to understand our world and potential directions for its future.
Date published: 2015-03-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fascinating subject A group of us get together weekly to watch Great Courses on a variety of subjects. The one on Cultural and Human Geography has been very interesting and has opened our eyes to a variety of happenings in our world as pertain to changes in the planet which is our home. We are all enjoying it.
Date published: 2015-03-15
Rated 1 out of 5 by from After 25 teaching company courses, a loser here! I have been purchasing and viewing Teaching Company courses for several years - ranging from music to geology to oceanography to structures to Buddhism to .... This course was the worst I have viewed. I did stop after eight lectures because I could no longer stomach the continual stream of unsupported assertions, manufactured "stories" and pseudo-scientific nomenclature. Perhaps this is what passes for a geography course these days but this is a course that screams for an opportunity to say "Hold on there! Can you please support what you just asserted!" The "political ecology" lecture finally put me over the top as the professor describes his methodology as essentially constructing some narrative of how a particular situation (e.g an African tribal conflict) came to pass. No facts, no supportive statistics or any testing of the hypothesis...just a string of assertions and vague "logic" which then becomes geographic theology. I must admit to feeling like I was back in third grade with the condescending style of presentation of this lecturer as well. Perhaps that contributes to my obviously very negative review . I can only hope that the freshmen at the University of Wisconsin have enough critical thinking skills to question some of the more obvious logical reaches presented.
Date published: 2015-02-21
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great data with some sketchy conclusions The data, plainly presented, was quite solid, except for the grossly ignorant claim that Europeans thought the earth was flat before Columbus... Really?!?! I would have appreciated more physical geography - mountains and rivers and fauna. IF you get this course, please know that he has a profoundly liberal bias and that he is an Al Gore chicken little when it comes to Global Warming (despite admitting that earth heats and cools naturally). My recommendation is to entertain his lectures, but look at his lefty conclusions with a good deal of skepticism. And my recommendation to the professor is to do some research about the whole flat earth thing and watch some other Great Courses, where they get it right i.e., Lawrence Principe and others.
Date published: 2015-02-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Understanding Cultural and Human Geography This course is an excellent introduction to geography but what surprised me the most, was how applicable the information is to my life and my work! I have planned and implemented many programs as a health educator and later, as a contracts manager in human services. We thought we were taking an interdisciplinary approach, but our work would have been immeasurably enhanced by including geographers in the planning process. I have been sharing my keen appreciation of this course with friends and relatives and now, with your readers. As an undergraduate at the University of Washington, I took one course in world geography and I regreted that time constraints precluded me from taking additional courses. The instructor, Dr. Paul Robbins, is excellent. He introduces the course work by topic and lecture, reviews and summarizes each lecture, and ensures that you are mindful of the big themes that run throughout all 24 lectures. He is an superb scholar whose expertise is supported by his 'hands-on' travels throughout the world. He has a wonderful way of incorporating stories into his lectures and of connecting seemingly inconsequential things to the big geopolitical challenges we face right now. This course has truly changed the way I look at my work and my life. Well done!
Date published: 2015-01-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent course Thought provoking in that the presentation of material was novel. Wish there were additional courses available in this area.
Date published: 2015-01-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Understanding Cultural and Human Geography I have been an enthusiastic Teaching Company consumer for over 20 years, and this is my first written review. What makes Professor Robbins' course exceptional is his interpretation of science, history and economics from a geographic perspective that provides some truly unique insights. As a physician and scientist, his discussion of the geography of disease was excellent and taught me something new, and in areas where I have no special expertise, his presentation was invariably clear and appropriate.
Date published: 2015-01-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Understanding Cultural and Human Geography This course gives a broad survey of the many different topics geography encompasses. The lecturer has a wonderful grasp of the material and a pleasant conversational way of presenting it, with almost enough graphics. I would have preferred more images and graphs, and more analysis of the very interesting charts he showed from time to time. I had no trouble completing the course, indeed had to ration myself to no more than two lectures at a time; and I will be redoing it, because there is a lot of interesting factual material. Really good course.
Date published: 2015-01-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Overview of Crucial Issues for Humanity - For All! I recommend this course highly for everyone with any concern for the major ecological, social, political, economic, and cultural issues confronting humanity. It provides an exceptionally well-done overview of a vast range of topics which should be of interest to us all. Reading through the lecture descriptions will give you a good idea of the very broad range of this course. Humanity's effect on our environment, the likely end of population growth within a century, the relationship of agricultural developments and urbanization to global economics, the loss and transmutation of languages and cultures, supranationalism and the limitations of the concept of national boundaries - all of these and more are clearly and insightfully presented. And Professor Robbins is outstanding. His sentences are clear and carefully crafted, and presented in a well-modulated conversational style which is a pleasure to listen to. The lectures are very well organized; I particularly appreciated the professor's briefly outlining what each lecture would cover, and his provision of a cogent summary at each lecture's end. Keep in mind that the extraordinary breadth of this course, with only 24 lectures, necessitates a corresponding relative lack of detail and depth. It is presented at a high school senior or college freshman level, and would, in fact, make an outstanding social studies course for such students. (It would also make a very appropriate complement to TGC's "Big History.") But the importance of the subjects treated, as well as their intrinsic interest, held my attention throughout. The visuals are helpful and interesting, especially the maps, but are actually not crucial; the audio version would work almost as well. The Course Guidebook is excellent, considerably more detailed than most. (Like every recent Great Course, however, it inexplicably lacks a glossary. Having fruitlessly complained about this for close to a year now, I must finally conclude that the great state of Virginia has made glossaries illegal, or that whatever belief system is subscribed to by TGC's management considers them immoral.) The only - and very minor - weakness of the course, for me, was its failure to fulfill one of Professor Robbins' most explicit goals - explaining what particular features characterize the modern fields of cultural and human geography. As far as I could discern, the many subjects discussed had in common only that they involve humans and culture, and that they occur in places. (The Wiki articles on cultural geography and human geography are helpful here, and pretty much confirm this view.) So - this is, imho, an important and very worthwhile course which pretty much everyone will appreciate, and that appreciation may very well benefit our world.
Date published: 2015-01-25
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Loads of Ideas for That Geography Term Paper If I took a college level geography course then I would not be in lack of any ideas for a term paper after these presentations by Prof Robbins. Really, I would study for those geography tests and use these lectures for that end of the semester term paper. I would be all set and my work would be done! My term paper would be fascinating because there are some really wonderful ideas in geography that the professor has given, just glance the Table of Contents. With the accompaning guide book I would even have a comprehensive list of references for additional research information all presented in front of me. Geez, where was TGC when I was an undergrad??!!
Date published: 2015-01-24
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Mixed Feelings! In this series of 24 lectures, Professor Paul Robbins sets out to demonstrate the breadth of geography as a field of knowledge and investigation. The first lecture is the only one devoted to maps and is highly enlightening. The following deal with numerous other facets of geography: sense of place, adaptation to the environment, climate change, political ecology, etc. Professor Robbins brings forth a certain number of concepts that are innovating (to me at least) such as the idea that our current geological era should be named Anthropocene because of the importance of human impact on the planet. The course is very well structured with each lecture seemingly flowing naturally from the preceding. Thus, it provides easy listening and is highly enjoyable. Nothing is perfect however and at times Professor Robbins seems to lack sensitivity, drawing parallels for instance between the development of Buddhism and of rock and roll. Worse, it must be pointed out that certain analyses not as thorough as one would expect from an academic: • Professor Robbins believes the concept of the nation-state is not adapted to our current world and that creating new sovereign states tends to amplify problems rather than resolve them; he provides many examples, including Pakistan, South Soudan, Kosovo and East Timor; however, he completely fails to mention successful recent cases such as the Czech Republic, Slovakia, Slovenia, Latvia, Lithuania and Estonia or earlier ones such as Norway or … the United States. • In his discussion of languages, Professor Robbins mentions that the number of French speakers has diminished over the past decades. This is false, as the number of Francophones, over 300 million persons, has never been larger in history. Professor Robbins’ analysis is based on mother tongue and neglects the role of French as the language of schooling and the unifying lingua franca in many African nations. Neither does he take into account the importance of diffusion and underscore that, say, Japanese and Urdu are highly concentrated … geographically. Overall, this course is certainly substantial but often disappointing in terms of intellectual rigor. Perhaps, geography, though wide-ranging, is not as « scientific » as Professor Robbins believes it to be!
Date published: 2015-01-17
Rated 3 out of 5 by from cultural and human geography I was a little disappointed. I think I was really looking for a more basic course, geography and its impact on human development.
Date published: 2015-01-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A Very Enjoyable and Informative Course This presentation was well beyond my expectations and quite satisfying to listen to.
Date published: 2015-01-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A different viewpoint This human geography course, in emphasizing the spatial, gives a unique viewpoint not covered in any other course. It gave modes of analysis of social problems that I had not been aware of. It also delineated trends, such as the slowdown and eventual cessation of population growth, which would probably surprise many viewers. Furthermore, it takes seriously the threat of global warming caused by human activity and provides an explanation of the meaning of globalization. Most important of all it was a broad ranging course having many relevant applications.
Date published: 2015-01-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from If you have a World view, this is your course I have the video version of this course. It's a great course, but after finishing it, I think the audio version accompanied by the digital booklet would also do! So, if you are thinking about buying an audio or video version, don't think you're missing much if you just buy the audio. If you are more a visual learner, no hesitate: go for the video version! It's a great course that honors "The Great Courses".
Date published: 2015-01-01
Rated 4 out of 5 by from a lot about politics The geography of this course is about the lines drawn on maps and the relationships between countries and cultures with an emphasis on the political views of different groups. I expected a more historical approach and some attention to how the different types of land affect human cultures when I ordered the course.
Date published: 2014-12-21
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good, could be better I had been looking forward to such a course here at GC for a very long time. I was delighted that it came out and overall was satisfied. If you have little previous study in academic geography, this is an excellent introduction. Formal geography is a neglected topic in most general education, even on a college level. The professor covers many topics in human geography (political, linguistic, population and demography, economic, etc.) and in that way is a good beginning. It does not concentrate on "physical geography" (land forms, geology, etc.), but rather on human aspects. I think it is more "human" focused that "culture" focused since the focus is frequently on politics. However, my own personal interest is in specifically cultural geography, "folk geography", and some of the intriguing work done on diverse topics such as architecture/housing, food, sports, music, gender and geography, historical geography, environmental psychology, etc. I took a few geography courses in grad school and enjoyed these aspects more that the political/economic areas. Of course, the prof specializes in political/economic geo, so this is emphasized in his course, but there is much more that could be studied. I do recommend this as a beginning course. I think most listeners will learn a very new perspective in social science. But be aware of the slant of the professor as he presents his material.
Date published: 2014-12-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Captivating Topics Although familiar with many of the topics of the course, every lecture in the series was of interest and provided information new to me. Professor Robbins is clear, enthusiastic, and full of information to communicate to the student. Beyond that I could not evaluate his professional qualifications, but clearly he knows more than I do and I benefited from taking his course. The video version, the one I have, contains many photographs, paintings, and maps which I would not wish to miss, and I would therefore recommend this version over the audio only, The booklet was very detailed and is should be read to enhance and reenforce the many details and concepts of the lectures.
Date published: 2014-12-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fascinating course While many of the ideas presented within this course had familiar roots to me: think "Guns, Germs and Steel" for example as a reference, the presenter builds on such classics to make his points. The presenter nicely picks ideas and quotes from a treasure trove of resource material which makes the source material sound compelling - I have compiled quite a reading list as a result! I highly recommend this course that will open your eyes in some ways to the way the world works. Kudos too to Paul Robinson, the presenter. He has an easy and engaging speaking style with an obvious affinity for the subject matter that is infectious.
Date published: 2014-12-05
  • y_2019, m_10, d_15, h_7
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.13
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_7, tr_42
  • loc_en_US, sid_1761, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_teachco
  • bvseo_sdk, p_sdk, 3.2.0
  • CLOUD, getContent, 57.29ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT

Questions & Answers

Customers Who Bought This Course Also Bought